so i care about women to “score points”?

so some PTERF (patriarchal trans-exterminationist radical fauxminist) claimed that “homosexual males who want to be laydees only are feminists to score points”

whelp…if you’re gonna call me a man i guess i’m a heterosexual man…sorry, PTERFs, calling me a “man” is just funny. it holds no pain, no damage for me personally. it’s like hitting me with a chicken feather.  i know it’s supposed to wound trans women and that it’s a part of PTERF rhetoric to try to hurt us…but you can do it to me until there’s no tomorrow. i can dress in drag and call myself Mark and everyone will still call me “she” and “Marcia”…”man” ain’t gonna hurt me. so come at me with it and leave my sisters alone.

but let me set you straight about why i care about the status of women:

i care about the status of women for my blood sisters

i care about the status of women for my chosen sisters

i care about the status of women for my grandmother, my aunts, my female-identified cousins, and so on and so forth

i care about the status of women for my friends who are female-identified

i care about the status of women for my enemies who are female-identified where we hate each other because of toxic girl hate

i care about the status of women for my woman/girl-identified students

i care about the status of women for every woman on this 22 bus

i care about the status of women for my lovers, past and future

i care about the status of women for my community

i care about the status of women for little girls who still have their hopes and dreams intact without the scourge of gender programming telling them they’re lesser in their life yet.

i care about the status of women for each and every one of us in this goddamn world

i care about the status of women because the world inherently devalues relationships between women, from our friendships to our marriages and everything in between

i care about the status of women because the world inherently devalues us

and, yes, i care about the status of women for me, because i am one and i am fortunate enough that society and i agree that i am one…but i don’t give a shit about scoring points

i care about the status of women because the world still holds us to impossible standards, uses us for cheap labor, calls our bodies diseased, and calls us distaff…and we all deserve nothing less than equality, safety, and to be valued for the treasures we all are.

4 thoughts on “so i care about women to “score points”?

  1. But who are they supposed to be scoring points with? Their boyfriends? What a bizarre thing to accuse someone of. I notice that the PTERFs are usually really good with a turn of phrase but really bad at logic.

    • “I notice that the PTERFs are usually really good with a turn of phrase but really bad at logic.” …that’s like the best one-sentence summary of their arguments ever.

      Much of the PTERF wrath is about those of us who are trans women who are attracted to women. I think that’s who they believe we’re trying to score points with. I mean, because lesbians can be dumbed down to caring about points and nothing else? I guess the insulting, sniveling “political lesbian” schtick is even more distressing than we first thought if that’s what they believe we can be reduced to…

      I appreciate your gift for being able to put in one sentence what it takes me a paragraph to say, Wendy, on top of my thanks for your contributing.

  2. Pingback: LET US BE HUMAN: A TRANS WOMAN CALLS ON HER SISTERS TO ACT IN SUPPORT OF MISSING AND MURDERED ABORIGINAL WOMEN | Black Coffee Poet

  3. Hit with a chicken feather ;-) …..I had a chicken flap me upside the head yesterday. It kind of hurt ;-)

    It is good to see you are still out here blogging ! Very good post ;-)

Leave a Reply

